Technical Advisory Group

The Technical Advisory Group (TAG) is made up of experts in family planning research, program implementation, policy makers and representatives from donor agencies. The TAG meets at least once a year to review evidence and make recommendations on updating and implementing HIPs.

TAG members are selected based on the following criteria: recognized expertise in international family planning, good understanding of research methods and methodologies, good understanding of program implementation, ability to consider and review evidence from a wide range of subjects, ability to prioritize, and ability to provide an unbiased viewpoint.

Roles and Responsiblities of the TAG

Gifty Addico

Technical Advisor, UNFPA

Hashina Begum

Technical Specialist, UNFPA

Vicky Boydell

Accountability & Rights Advisor, IPPF

Minki Chatterji

Research Director, Abt Associates
Paata Chikvaidze
Medical Officer, WHO Afghanistan

Tamar Chitashvili

Chief of Party, URC

Ellen Eiseman

Health Practice Director, Chemonics

Alex Ezeh

Alex Ezeh
Executive Director, APHRC

Mario Festin

Medical Officer, WHO

Jay Gribble

Senior Fellow & Deputy Project Director, Palladium

Karen Hardee

Senior Associate and Project Director, Population Council

Victoria Jennings

Director, IRH

Roy Jacobstein

Senior Medical Advisor, IntraHealth

Eugene Kongnyuy

Senior Maternal and Newborn Health Advisor, UNFPA

Maggwa photo

Technical Advisor, USAID

Shawn Malarcher Image

Senior Advisor, USAID

Alice Payne Merritt

Director of Technical Programs, Johns Hopkins CCP

Erin Mielke

Health Development Officer, USAID

Chandra Mouli

Scientist, WHO

Gael O'Sullivan

Principal Associate, Abt Associates
Leopold Ouedraogo
Research & Programme Development Director, African Regional Office of WHO

John Pile

Country Representative, UNFPA

Heidi Quinn

Project Director of Sustainable Networks Project, IPPF
Head of the Programme & Health Systems Strengthening Dept, IPPF Africa Regional Office

Ritu Shroff

Evidence, Learning & Evaluation Director, Gates Foundation


Managing Director, FP2020

Sara Stratton

Senior Technical Advisor, Palladium

Michelle Weinberger

Senior Associate, Avenir